Abbreviations and acronyms


ASSI Area of Special Scientific Interest
BAP Biodiversity Action Plan
BRC Biological Records Centre
CCW Countryside Council for Wales
CEH Centre for Ecology and Hydrology
CORINE Co-ORdination of INformation on classification of the Environment
cSAC candidate Special Area of Conservation
Defra Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
DETR Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions (now Defra)
DGXI European Commission Directorate General XI – Environment, Nuclear Safety and Civil Protection (now DG Environment)
DoE Department of the Environment (now Defra)
dSAC draft Special Area of Conservation
EC European Commission; also European Community with reference to the Habitats Directive
EHS Environment and Heritage Service
EN English Nature (now Natural England)
ERCCIS Environmental Records Centre for Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly
ETC/NPB European Topic Centre for Nature Protection and Biodiversity (now the European Topic Centre on Biodiversity)
EU European Union
FCS Favourable Conservation Status
GB Great Britain (England, Scotland and Wales, excluding Northern Ireland)
ICES International Council for the Exploration of the Sea
IDD International Designations Database
IUCN The World Conservation Union (International Union for the Conservation of Nature)
JNCC Joint Nature Conservation Committee
LAT Lowest Astronomical Tide
LIFE L'Instrument Financier pour l'Environment [Financial Instrument for the Environment]
LRBI Lowland Raised Bog Inventory
NCC Nature Conservancy Council
NGO non-governmental organisation
NI Northern Ireland
nm nautical mile
NUTS Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics
NVC National Vegetation Classification
OS Ordnance Survey
pSAC possible Special Area of Conservation
SAC Special Area of Conservation
SCI Site of Community Importance
SEA Strategic Environmental Assessment
SEERAD Scottish Executive Environment and Rural Affairs Department
SNH Scottish Nature Heritage
SPA Special Protection Area
SSSI Site of Special Scientific Interest
UK United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland)
UKCS United Kingdom Continental Shelf