Common Standards Monitoring Guidance for Reptiles and Amphibians
Version February 2004


Common Lizard © Ian StrachanThere are 12 species of non-marine reptiles and amphibians (collectively termed herpetofauna) generally accepted to be native to Britain (see Box 1). This section includes guidance on selecting attributes and setting targets for individual species and assemblages of reptiles and amphibians where these are interest features on SSSIs, ASSIs and cSACs.
The guidance is summarised in four tables, which cover the following features:
  • Great crested newt Triturus cristatus
  • Natterjack toad Bufo calamita
  • Amphibian assemblages
  • Reptiles: individual species and assemblages


Box 1: Native British herpetofauna (excluding marine turtles1)
Common frog Rana temporaria
Common toad Bufo bufo
Natterjack toad Bufo calamita
Smooth newt Triturus vulgaris
Palmate newt Triturus helveticus
Great crested newt Triturus cristatus
Slow-worm Anguis fragilis
Common lizard Lacerta vivipara
Sand lizard Lacerta agilis
Grass snake Natrix natrix
Adder Vipera berus
Smooth snake Coronella austriaca
1 There are no SSSI selection criteria for marine turtles, hence they are omitted from this note.


You will need the free Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this document.
ISSN 1743-8160
Please cite as: JNCC, (2004), Common Standards Monitoring Guidance for Reptiles and Amphibians, Version February 2004, ISSN 1743-8160